Certification & Licensure

Certification and Licensure are essential for the demonstration of professional abilities and propensity for success in the Allied Health, Medical, and Nursing fields.

To this effect, medical licensure is required by law in all 50 states, and often times required at the Federal level as well.

NHCI™ credentials are issued by the National Medical Licensing Association™ (NMLA) under the auspices of the Federal Board of Medical Services. (See Title 20 U.S.C.).

Applicants must obtain an ATT (Authorization To Test) before submitting the application below.


Applications without an Authorization To Test will not be processed and refunds of fees paid on the basis of failing to first obtain an ATT will not be grounds for a refund of any amount.


NMLA certification and licensure is not available to all persons. Please note that NHCI is no longer accepting individual applications for credentialing, but any such applications must be submitted by an approved and NHCI-accredited educational institution (i.e. vocational, higher education, etc.), employer, or other approved partner organization.

To register, you will need your School Code, which can be obtained for your School Administrator or below. Applications received without the applicable School Code will not be processed.


NMLA certification and licensure renewals are currently processed through the orginal institute of attendance or application ( for first-time renewals). All subsequent renewals may be processed by contacting your dedicated Account Manager.

RSS Biomedical Beat-General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

  • Martin Burke: Replacing Lost Proteins to Treat Disease April 10, 2024
    Dr. Martin Burke has dedicated his career to developing molecules that can fill in for those that are missing in diseases like cystic fibrosis.
    Chrissa Chverchko
  • What Is Genetics? April 8, 2024
    Genetics is the study of how traits are inherited via DNA. Most DNA is the same for all people, but small differences affect appearance and health.
    Chrissa Chverchko
  • In Other Words: What Being Unionized Means for Molecules April 3, 2024
    In chemistry, unionized means “not electrically charged.” A molecule’s charge, or lack thereof, affects how it behaves in our bodies and in the lab.
    Chrissa Chverchko
  • Investigating the Primary Cilium: Q&A With Xuecai Ge March 27, 2024
    Dr. Xuecai Ge shares how her mom inspired her career and what makes the primary cilium fascinating.
    Chrissa Chverchko
  • What Is the Microbiome? March 20, 2024
    The microbiome is the collection of all the microorganisms that live in a certain area. The human body's microbiome helps keep us healthy.
    Chrissa Chverchko
  • Science Snippet: Examining Enzymes March 13, 2024
    Enzymes are biological catalysts that speed up the rates of chemical reactions that otherwise may never occur in nature.
    Chrissa Chverchko
  • Quiz: Do You Know Your Immune System? March 11, 2024
    The final post in our immunology miniseries will test your knowledge of the immune system. Can you get all five questions right?
    Chrissa Chverchko
All potentially copyrighted works contained herein represented to NHCI to comply with the Copyright Laws of the United States (click here for full text). Visit www.USA.gov to access the guide on government information and services. National Healthcare Credentialing Institute® (NHCI); 2021