Apply for Credentialing

In the USA, there are three predominant methods of individual credentialing:

  1. Direct Examination
  2. Reciprocity
  3. Endorsement

Within these above three methods there are three primary categories within which individual credentialing shall apply:

  1. Medicine (Physicians)
    • Medical Doctor
    • Doctor of Osteopathy
    • Chiropractic Physician
  2. Nursing
    • Practical/Vocational
    • Professional
    • Graduate
  3. Allied Healthcare
    • Clinical (Medical Assistant, EKG Tech, Pharmacy Tech, etc.)
    • Laboratorial (Phlebotomist, Medical Laboratory Tech, etc.)
    • Surgical (i.e. Surgical Technologist, Sterile Tech, etc.)
All potentially copyrighted works contained herein represented to NHCI to comply with the Copyright Laws of the United States (click here for full text). Visit to access the guide on government information and services. National Healthcare Credentialing Institute® (NHCI); 2021